Let's Enjoy Science

Date: October 20 (Su), 2013, 13:00 – 17:20 Venue: Clock Tower Centennial Hall, Kyoto University

Organized by KIER^{*}, YITP, and IRU-ICSS, Kyoto University, ISE, and GSEE

Supported by MEXT (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology-Japan),

ICAM, US National Academy of Sciences, RIKEN, JST, JMF

Kyoto Prefectural Board of Education[†], Kyoto City Board of Education, Osaka City Board of Education,

The Astronomical Society of Japan, The Physical Society of Japan, and The Chemical Society of Japan

Co-supported by Commemorative Organization for the Japan World Exposition '70

13:00 - 15:35 Public Lecture: "Living in an Emergent Universe: Developing an Emergent Perspective"

Opening Address: Kiyoshi Yoshikawa, Trustee, Kyoto University

Chair: Misao Sasaki, Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto University David Pines, Santa Fe Institute,

"Gateways to Emergent Behavior in Science and Society"

Chair: Masatoshi Murase, Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto University Kazuyoshi Yoshimura, Division of Chemistry, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University "Superconductivity in Strongly Correlated Electron Systems"

Chair: Tsuneo Uematsu, Professor, Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences, Kyoto University Makoto Kobayashi, Research Center for Science Systems, JSPS
"On the World of Elementary Particles"
Chair: Katsuji Koyama, Professor emeritus, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University Misao Sasaki, Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto University
"New Perspectives on Cosmology"

15:50 - 17:20 Panel Discussion: "Enjoyment of Scientific Research"

^{*} The Grant-in-Aid for Specially promoted Research #23000001, MEXT, Japan [†] This event is by the Joint Project Team of Kyoto University and Kyoto Prefectural Board of Education. Chair: Terufumi Ohno, Kyoto University Museum

Kazunari Shibata, Kwasan and Hida Observatories, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University Hiroshi Watanabe, Institute for Chemical Research, Kyoto University

Makoto Yao, Division of Physics and Astronomy, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University